Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Institutional Biosafety Committee  is responsible for advising the Vice President for Research on policies pertaining to research, teaching, and service activities that involve biological hazards, specifically hazards associated with the use of recombinant DNA (rDNA) and microbial toxins. The committee recommends standards by which biohazardous activities should be conducted, as well as review projects for compliance with local, state, and federal regulations.

The IBC meets monthly to review research protocols, assess the adequacy of current containment facilities, establish emergency response actions, and recommend appropriate sanctions for non-compliance.


IBC documents

Resgistration of Experiments Involving rDNA Form  Biohazardous Research Protocol Registration Form  IBC Protocol Amendment Application 

Committee Members

Name/Position Affiliation
Dr. Richard Dix
IBC Chair
Dept. of Biology
Dr. Charlie Benson Dept. of Biology
Dr. Lisa Casanova School of Public Health
Dr. Tim Denning Center for Inflammation, Immunity, and Infection
Dr. Zehava Eichenbaum Dept. of Biology
Mr. Robert Finton Fulton County Dept. of Health, Community Member
Dr. Markus Germann Dept. of Chemistry
Dr. Susanna Greer Dept. of Biology
Mr. James Miller Community Member
Dr. Vincent Rehder Dept. of Biology
Mr. Jeffery Sheppard CDC, Community Member
Dr. Brianna Skinner CDC, Community Member
Mr. Richard Muller
Ex officio member with vote
Senior Biosafety Officer, CBSP