Radiation Protection Committee (RPC)

Georgia State University is licensed to possess certain radioactive materials by the State of Georgia. The Radiation Protection Committee is charged with the task of advising the President of the University on matters related to the use of these materials on GSU’s campus. The committee reviews all applications for radioactivity-producing machines and substances and has the authority to enforce all safety guidelines set forth by the Radiation Safety Program.

Radiation Safety Manual is written for the purpose of administering these standards at Georgia State University provides more detailed information on the Radiation Safety Program.

Documents for submitting protocols can be found HERE.

Committee Members:

Name Affiliation
Dan Benardot
Nutrition & Dietetics
Crawford Elliott Geosciences
Teryl Frey Biology
Kathy Grant Chemistry
Xiaochun He Physics and Astronomy
Mary Karmon Neuroscience Laboratory Supervisor
John Lovelace Community Member
Edgar Torbert Provost/VP Academic Affairs
Richard Muller
Ex officio member with vote
Mike Thompson
Ex officio member without vote
Quintena Tinson
Ex officio member without vote